in Short

Ranking: 33 African countries among the least developed in the world

33 African countries, including Rwanda, are designated by the United Nations as least developed countries (LDCs). This entitles them, among other benefits, to aid, preferential market access and special technical assistance.

The 33 African countries are: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Togo, Uganda, and Zambia.

The list of LDCs is reviewed every three years by the Committee for Development Policy (CDP), a group of independent experts that reports to the UN Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC).

Ce message est également disponible en : FrenchArabic