in Short

UN Four new African countries enter the Human Rights Council

The United Nations Human Rights Council renews 15 of its 47 member’ state 13th of October. Four African countries enter the institution: Ivory Coast, Malawi, Senegal, and Gabon. Africa is the most represented continent in this institution, with 13 state members, like Asia-Pacific. Note that Saudi Arabia is the only country not to get elected. Numerous associations defending human rights were opposed to its election and the one of Russia and China. But those last two have become members.